Aside

Trust me, I’m fine…!

For anyone of you who have ever suffered a mental health issue, I wonder If you can relate.. Heres the thing, you can see obvious signs of someone is strugling to deal with mental health, so you don’t talk about it. I find if someone (most often with doctors) ask me how I am, I respond “I’m great thanks for asking!”. When I was a child I was never allowed to express sadness or anger, I was known as the *smiler* as my smile never left my face, it made others happy. Now as a fully grown adult I feel guilty if I have a bad day with depression, I have to smile, laugh, take the mick out of my self to mask the pain. Noone can hear the silent screams for help. I wish I could get over this feeling of guilt. Even the doctors have told me to put my self first, me – the people pleaser… Good luck…! X

One thought on “Trust me, I’m fine…!

  1. I hear you. I feel like we’re all entitled to our good days and our bad days. When I struggle with an underlying issue like that, I don’t bring it up in conversation because that’s, you know, just my normal now. As an adult, I know that’s probably not going to change. So if I’m having a bad day or a bad week, I tell people. If it’s a bad month… well, I just make that my new baseline as I try to find a way to get it back where it used to be. That said, even if my good days are just an average day to someone else, I’ll still talk about them. Because damned if I’m going to let this limit me.

    And it’s the truth, we’ve all got to put ourselves first. Selfishness and self-preservation are totally different. Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

